You are here: Home | Information for voters

Information for voters

Citizens of the UK, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta are eligible to vote in all UK and European Parliamentary Elections. If you are a citizen of one of the other European Union countries, you can register to vote in the UK at the European Parliamentary Election rather than in your home country.

To be eligible to vote in the next European Parliamentary Election, you must be on the electoral register by no later than Wednesday 7 May 2014. You can find out more about electoral registration  by contacting your local council.

Every voter has the option to either cast their vote in person at a polling station between 7am and 10pm on Thursday 22 May or alternatively to vote by post. Again, your local council will have details of how you can apply for a postal/proxy vote or to appoint a proxy to vote on your behalf.

Voters across the North West region will also be voting in local elections and referendums. You can find out more about Local Council elections and referendums by contacting your local council.